The History Of Penalty Stroke In Golf

The problem of how to handle lost balls causes the longest and most complicated controversies and disputes in the history of golf rules. To be sure, from 1775 to 1968 the chaos of this problem was rampant going here. Aside from that, we recommend you to check out the finest phuket golf course if you want to try playing golf in Thailand.

* Originally, at 1744 St. Andrews gentlemen golfers enforce: “If you lose the ball, you should go back to the last place and drop another ball, and let your opponent (formerly known as the match play format) receive one blow from your misfortune.” as “stroke & distance”.

* In 1775, 11 years later, they changed the different ones as follows: “If you lose the ball, you should drop another ball where you think the original ball disappeared, and let your opponent take one blow from your misfortune.” They reduce the penalty for the ball is lost with just a stroke (stroke only). The player no longer needs to go back to the place where the ball was lost (distance penalty is eliminated).

* In 1790 Edinburgh Burgess golfers introduced a new regulation relating to missing balls which essentially: for the ball lost penalty only distance (distance only) until the year 1802.

* After the USGA or the R & A experimented with the most suitable penalties, finally in 1968 they agreed to the Rules and again imposed the same penalty for “missing balls”, “balls outside the border”, and “non-playable balls “, Namely the distance and penalty swing as we know it now. It turned out that the “stroke & distance” penalty determined by St. Andrews gentlemen golfers in 1744 were still the most appropriate after 224 years. Unbelievable….!!!

However, there are still many players who think that the penalty for the ball off the border (OoB) is two shots. The penalty for the OoB ball is only one hit. So, if the ball you drive from the tee (first punch) is clear to the outside of the border (one punch penalty), then you hit your drive back from the tee with another ball, that is the third hit, right?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *